The awards are given to students to acknowledge their exemplary work in service and leadership during their time at LMU. 

The annual Student Service and Leadership Awards (SSLA) ceremony was held at the Sacred Heart Chapel on Friday, April 26 at 3 p.m. The SSLA are meant to recognize students who have had outstanding achievement and leadership positions during their time at LMU.

The awards aim to recognize leaders in a variety of student life organizations, including sports, sorority and fraternity life and student employees, according to the website.

“It’s nice to have the work we put in for the last four years be recognized,” said senior political science major and recipient of the Raymunde McKay, R.S.H.M. Award, Alfredo Hernandez. “It’s very humbling, most of us feel like other people should be getting these awards.”

This year, the Magis Award was given out, which is distinctive because it is not given out on an annual basis like the other awards. This award is “reserved for times when unique contributions have been made by a student leader or organization that benefited the entire University,” according to the handout given at the ceremony.

Senior finance and political science double major Kienan Taweil, president of LMU’s Muslim Student Association, was the recipient of this award. Seniors Luis Kay, economics major, and Brenda Quintanilla, political science and Chicana/o studies double major, received the Robert Graham, S.J. Alumni Award, the most prestigious of the awards, for their excellence in service and leadership.

Here is the full list of SSLA recipients:

  • Male Student Athlete of the Year: Koby Pederson
  • Female Student Athlete of the Year: Tess Reid
  • Student Employee of the Year: Jayna Ortiz and Cierra Lockett
  • Student Supervisor of the Year: Kathryn Ryan
  • Ambassador of the Year: Enrico Sala
  • Fraternity Man of the Year: Joshua Spaugh
  • Sorority Woman of the Year: Vanessa Cicchini
  • Interfraternal Scholar of the Year: Kathryn Calo and Tiffany Przybyla
  • Advisor of the Year: Patricia Meyers
  • Student Organization of the Year: Society of Women Engineers
  • University Program of the Year: The Del Rey Players

Peg Dolan R.S.H.M. Award:

  • Alec Bakkeby
  • Abigail Manullang
  • Elena Martinez
  • Ash Navaratnam
  • Malia Thornton
  • Seth Bakke

Renee L. Harrangue, Ph.D. Award:

  • Dailyn Colston
  • Jenica Rose Garcia
  • Mikayla Gingrey
  • Leonardo Gonzalez-Smith
  • Elsie Mares
  • Taylor Pajunen
  • Jackson Palen
  • Meaghan Wager

Alfred Kilp, S.J. Award:

  • Luca Basilone
  • Giuseppe Benedetti
  • Sam Cassidy
  • Jennifer Chua
  • Camila De Pierola
  • Devon Elmore
  • Adam Greger
  • Aoife Tejada
  • Alejandra Vasquez
  • Amber Webb
  • Deja Webber
  • Kathryn Wilson

Raymunde McKay, R.S.H.M. Award:

  • Lauren Anderson
  • Daquan Bass
  • Kurt Griffin Baumberger
  • Kellie Chudzinski
  • Shelby Cormier
  • Allison Crawford
  • Brooke Duplantier
  • Jack Eason
  • Elena Garcia
  • Jared Gencarella
  • Matthew Gooden
  • Rachel Haik
  • Alfredo Hernandez
  • Lydia Lopez Wolfe
  • Jared Lyons
  • Keara Reilly
  • Amada Reyes
  • Kaelyn Sabal-Wilson
  • Enrico Sala
  • John Selby
  • Matthew Tarutis
  • Olivia Twiford

James Loughran, S.J. Service Award: Makeen Yasar

Donald P. Merrifield, S.J. Intercultural Award: Emely Morales

The Magis Award: Kienan Taweil

Robert Graham, S.J. Alumni Award: Luis Kay and Brenda Quintanilla

Sofia is an undeclared major from Portland, OR. She enjoys watching Game of Thrones and listening to indie and rap music. Sofia loves and respects the masterpiece that is Chief Keef's "Love Sosa."

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.